Yesterday Kanye West previewed his brand new album The Life Of Pablo alongside his recent fashion collection with a massive show in Madison Square Garden, New York. The show actually created such a buzz that it was broadcasted live into cinemas worldwide and I was happy to join in from Hamburg, Germany. To put that straight, the last time we’ve had something other than a movie live streamed in our local cinemas was the 2014 World Cup. So yeah, expectations were pretty high and no surprise the cinema was packed with Kanye fans.

Most artists usually preview their new music on tour, some videos leak on Youtube and they get released eventually. So I didn’t really know what to expect from this album preview. Of course the show started with the royal Kardashian clan entering the hall all pimped out in white fur. But from there on nothing particularly interesting happened. Kanye plugged the aux cord into his laptop and played his songs one by one as the fashion collection was unveiled. No big show, no fireworks, just fashion and Hip Hop music. The models stood still all the way through the show, mostly looking bored and sitting down to light one up once in a while. The whole event had a vibe of an amateur rapper plugging in his phone on a house party and forcing his homeboys to listen to it on repeat though Kanye had some warm words for his fans of course.

Kanye loves you like Kanye loves Kanye.

The music itself was dope and showcased a strange but soulful vibe of Kanye’s personal life. The Story Of Pablo comes with a bunch of tight features with well-known artists like Ty Dolla $ign, Post Malone and Vic Mensa of which every single one was a straight banger. Some of his songs have already been featured on his Soundcloud page. As per usual you’ll find some of those special Kanye songs on the album that are just different. Different for the sake of being different.

Kanye’s Very Own Video Game

I know that Kanye is a huge fan of Steve Jobs as you can see him adopting his presentation style and techniques. And so after the album was finished Kanye had a one more thing moment which you might now from Jobs’ keynotes. In this case Kanye showcased his brand new video game in which you play his deceased mother traveling through the gates of heaven on a white stallion – for real. I leave this one open for interpretation.

All in all The Story Of Pablo sounds like a characteristic piece of music that came with an alright show. If you’ve enjoyed his past albums you’ll probably love this one to. The Life Of Pablo will probably drop soon, here’s the current track list:

The Life Of Pablo – Tracklist:

  1. Ultra Light Beam
  2. Father Stretch My Hands, Pts. 1 & 2
  3. Freestyle 4
  4. Famous
  5. High Lights
  6. Feedback
  7. Fade feat. Post Malone and Ty Dolla $ign
  8. FML
  9. Real Friends feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  10. Wolves feat. Sia & Vic Mensa

(5 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)